2B Basketball: Central 2B All-League Girls Basketball Squad Teeming with Local Players

By The Chronicle

In a somewhat surprising result the girls basketball coaches from the Central 2B League Kaeley Schultz, of Rainier, and Macie Elliott, of Wahkiakum, are co-MVP’s of that top-tier division.

Elliott, a senior shooting guard who anchored the Mules during a dominant and undefeated run through the C2BL, was expected by most to garner the MVP honors. However, the inspired play of Schultz also managed to catch the attention of those closest to the action. A freshman guard, Schultz has helped the Mountaineers to a 9-1 record in the league to go with a 19-1 overall mark.

The All-C2BL First Team included Kal Schaplow, a junior forward from Toledo, Payton Aselton, a junior guard from Adna, and Heather Edgar, a senior point guard from Mossyrock. Wahkiakum also landed Ellie Leitz and Jansi Merz to that that first unit.

A pair of Loggers found their way on to the All-C2BL Second Team. Those Onalaska players included Callie Lawrence, a freshman point guard, and Carmen-Cleveland-Barrera, a junior post. Stacie Spahr, a sophomore forward from Toledo, and Addison Hall, a freshman wing, also landed on the second unit. Paige Mace of Wahkiakum rounded out the second team.

Adna placed a pair of players on the All-C2BL Third Team, with sophomore guard Ellie Sliva, and freshman post Faith Wellander both earning recognition. Jacie Dunlap, a senior guard from Morton-White Pass, and Andee Nelson, a junior guard from Mossyrock, were the East Lewis County representatives on the third unit. Akura Rocha of Kalama was the final player on that team.

Local players earning honorable mention nods included Rae Sisson and Sydney Purvis of Napavine. Hannah Smathers of Morton-White Pass and Alex Cleveland-Barrera of Onalaska also received votes that garnered an honorable mention.

The rest of the league’s honorable mention players include Jordyn Grabenhorst and Casey Wentz of Toutle Lake, Mckensi Fluckiger and Charlie Ashe of Wahkiakum, and Faith Boesch of Rainier.

Rainier coach Brandon Eygabrod earned Coach of the Year honors for his work putting Schultz and company in a position to succeed.

Images from a Central 2B League boys basketball game between Toledo and Toutle Lake at Toledo High School on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2018.


Toledo Hogs All-League Central 2B Boys Basketball Honors

With a 10-0 league record and just two losses to their name heading into the district tournament a pair of Toledo leaders garnered top honors in the Central 2B League boys basketball vote.

That vote, conducted by coaches from the league, tabbed Toledo senior forward Fano Arceo-Hansen as Most Valuable Player. Meanwhile, the man drawing up plays at the end of the Toledo bench, Grady Fallon, earned recognition as Coach of the Year on the boys side of the C2BL.

A trio of local hoopers also found their way onto the All-C2BL First Team. Austen Apperson, a senior guard, and Lyle Metzenberg, a senior forward both earned recognition from Adna and Dawson Stanley, a senior point-forward from Napavine, were all voted to the first team. Mike Adams and Logan Grabenhorst from Toutle Lake rounded out that first unit.

The All-C2BL Second Team was more of a mixed bag with five teams represented. Alex Dyer of Kalama and Lucas Brown of Wahkiakum were the two second teamers from the southern reaches of the league. Andreas Malunat, a senior guard from Toledo, Bryce Cline, a junior shooting guard from Winlock, and Kaleb Rashoff, a senior wing from Morton-White Pass, filled in the rest of the second team.

Partaking in the old family tradition, Toledo center Westin Wallace earned third team honors. Cade Evander, a sophomore wing form Napavine, and Carter Whitehead, a junior point guard who attends Onalaska, were also voted to the All-C2BL Third Team. Grant Vandenberg and Jackson Esary of Kalama filled out the remaining spots on the third squad.

Toledo also had three players receive votes for honorable mention. Those players include senior point guard Brian Wood, senior wing Bryce Marcil, and senior wing Hayden Farbo.

Numerous additional local hoopers garnered honorable mention votes. Those players include Onalaska’s Kayden Allison, a sophomore wing, and Alex Frazier, a junior wing. Morton-White Pass also had two players who received All-League votes. Those players were senior guard Dyland Richards and junior guard Hayden Young. Other area players earning ink were Keith Olson, a freshman center from Napavine, Cole Fay, a junior guard from Adna, and Darren “Deuce” Kolb, a senior guard from Mossyrock.

The rest of the honorable mention contingent is comprised of Broc Keeton of Toutle Lake, and Wyatt Coleman of Rainier, along with Wahkiakum’s Brody Carlson and Logan LaBerge.



You may also like...

Leave a Reply