Friday’s 2B Track: Napavine’s Olson, Adna’s Apperson Each Win Four at C2BL Track Championships

LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIPS: Kalama Boys, Mossyrock Girls Win Team Titles in Sub-District Meet

KALAMA — Napavine’s Mollie Olson won four events and Adna’s Austen Apperson won three times here Friday in the Central 2B League championship track meet.

Olson, a senior, won the 100-meter hurdles in 15.64 seconds. She won the 300 hurdles in 48.55 seconds and won the long jump (16 feet, 9 inches) and the triple jump (34-05.25). Olson’s teammate Chloe Stewart, a sophomore, took second in all four events.

On the boys side, Apperson swept the distance events. The Pirate junior won the 800 meters by nearly 8 seconds in 1:58, won the 1600 by 2 seconds at 4:41, and won the 3200 by 2 seconds at 10:23. He also ran the anchor leg of Adna’s first-place 4×400 relay team, with Zander Blankenship, Brady Collins and Aisan Ryan, which won in 3:32.74.

The Pirates finished second as a team with 107.5 points, behind only Kalama (176). Pe Ell was third (101) and Morton-White Pass fourth (54).

Collins finished third in both the 100 and the 200, while Adna’s Luke Wellander won the 110 hurdles (15.40) and took second in the 300 hurdles (41.97).

Pe Ell’s Brad Prestegord won the javelin (159-08) and took second in the discus, while teammate Ryan Shepherd was second in the javelin, third in the triple jump and fourth in the 300 hurdles and triple jump. Andrew Schulz won the long jump for the Trojans at 21-11.5, and took third in the triple jump and fifth in the 100 and 200. Jeremiah Yost was second in the shot put, and Kaleb McCalden was second in the high jump and fourth in the discus.

Tristan Storey took second in the 100 and the 200 for MWP.

Napavine’s Draven Riddle won the triple jump (41-11), tied for second in the long jump and took fourth in the 100. Winlock’s Bryce Cline won the high jump (6-0). Toledo’s Anthony Peak was third in the 110 hurdles and teammate Nicholas Marty was third in the 3200.

Stephanie Fried won the 200 for the Mossyrock girls in 27.22 seconds. She teamed up with Grace Lovan, Sarah Lovan and Maleah Nixon Klein to win the 4×200 relay, ran a leg of the second-place 4×100 team with Nixon Klein, Sarah Lovan and Jill Cournyer, and worked with Nixon Klein, Sarah Lovan and Faith Mulligan to take second in the 4×400 relay.

Heather Edgar won the shot put at 34-07, and Jamie Carlson (98-11.25) edged teammate Ava Nelson (95-02) for first in the discus, with Paige Moorcroft finishing fourth. Nelson took second, Carlson was fourth and Moorcroft fifth in the javelin.

The Toledo girls took fifth, with Ally Bacon winning the javelin (124-07). Emily Tyner won the high jump (4-06) and took fourth in the long jump, while Kal Schaplow was third in the javelin. Bacon, Schaplow, Abigail Rowe and Alyssa Gaskill won the 4×100 (53.22), with Rowe finishing second in the 100 and fourth in the 200.

Onalaska’s Carmen Cleveland-Barrera was second in the shot put, with Betty Granman taking fourth in the 100.

Adna’s Lauryn Apperson took second in the 800 and third in the 1600, with teammate Tori Lange taking third in both hurdle races.

Napavine’s Haily Murray was second in the high jump and Cirstyn Ellison was third in the shot put.

Track action for Central 2B League teams continues on Friday in the District 4 2B Track Championships at W.F. West High School.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *