Girls Basketball: Steen Voted AP Player of the Year

W.F. West High School guard Kiara Steen drives the lane Friday against Black Hills High School defenders during District 4 2A playoff action at Saint Martin’s University. Steen, a senior, was voted the Associated Press 2A Player of the Year.

W.F. West’s Kiara Steen is The Associated Press’ 2A girls basketball Player of the Year.

The AP All-State teams were released Tuesday morning, based on a vote of the state’s prep sportswriters. This year’s list featured a Player of the Year in each classification, along with an All-State first team and honorable mention list.

Steen, a senior point guard, led W.F. West to the State 2A championship. She was joined on the all-state first team by Lakewood’s Jelly Perry, Archbishop Murphy’s Emily Rodabaugh, Washougal’s Beyonce Bea and Prosser’s Marissa Cortes. Fellow Bearcats Erika Brumfield and Julia Johnson were both honorable mentions.

Napavine’s Melissa Lee was an All-State first-team pick at the 2B level, with teammate Mollie Olson earning an honorable mention. State champion Colfax’s Carmen Gfeller was the 2B Player of the Year.

On the boys side, Selah’s Elijah Pepper was the 2A Player of the Year, and W.F. West’s Jordan Thomas was an honorable mention.

In the 2B boys ranks, Kittitas’ Brock Ravet was the Player of the Year, with Morton-White Pass’ Matt Poquette and Adna’s Cody Young each earning first-team nods, along with Brewster’s Joe Taylor and St. George’s Erik Farias. Toledo’s Reece Wallace was an honorable mention.

Here’s the story from the Associated Press:

Rainier Beach standout Kevin Porter Jr., and Central Valley star Lexie Hull have been voted the Associated Press Washington state high school basketball players of the year for 2018.

Porter and Hull were honored after voting by sports writers and editors from around the state. The results of the voting were announced on Tuesday.

Porter led Rainier Beach to the Class 3A state title game before falling to Garfield. Porter, who is headed to USC, averaged 27 points and 14 rebounds in his senior season.

Hull averaged 20.4 points and 8.4 rebounds in leading Central Valley to the Class 4A state title. Hull was the Greater Spokane League MVP and is headed to Stanford with her sister Lacie.

Both Porter and Hull were also voted player of the year in their respective classes.

Boys’ players of the year in each classification included: Anton Watson of Gonzaga Prep (Class 4A); Elijah Pepper of Selah (Class 2A); Cole Bajema of Lynden Christian (Class 1A); Brock Ravet of Kittitas (Class 2B); and Erwin Weary of Cedar Park Christian-Mountlake Terrace (Class 1B).

Girls’ players of the year in each classification included: Brynna Maxwell of Gig Harbor (Class 3A); Kiara Steen of W.F. West (Class 2A); Hailey Van Lith of Cashmere (Class 1A); Carmen Gfeller of Colfax (Class 2B); and Dakota Patchen of Colton (Class 1B).

And here’s the full All-State list:


Player of the year, all classes —Kevin Porter Jr., sr., Rainier Beach.


Player of the year — Anton Watson, jr., Gonzaga Prep.

First team — Anton Watson, jr., Gonzaga Prep; Jaden McDaniels, jr., Federal Way; Carson Tuttle, sr., Kamiak; Kaden Anderson, sr., Enumclaw; Riley Sorn sr., Richland.

Honorable mention — Cameron Tyson, sr., Bothell; Naje Smith, sr., Lewis & Clark.


Player of the year — Kevin Porter Jr., sr., Rainier Beach.

First team — Kevin Porter Jr., sr., Rainier Beach; Emmitt Matthews Jr., sr., Wilson; Erik Stevenson, sr., Timberline; C.J. Elleby, sr., Cleveland; J’Raan Brooks, sr., Garfield.

Honorable mention — P.J. Fuller, jr., Garfield.


Player of the year — Elijah Pepper, jr., Selah.

First team — Elijah Pepper, jr., Selah; Demetrius Crosby II, sr., Foss; Christian Zamora, jr., Lynden; Steele Venters, jr., Ellensburg; Clayton Whitman, jr., Lynden.

Honorable mention — Micah Pollard, jr., Foss; Khyree Armstead, sr., Mountlake Terrace; Trystan Lowry, sr., Anacortes; Jordan Thomas, sr., W.F. West.; Zac Olmstead, sr., North Kitsap; Tyler Berger, sr., Mark Morris.


Player of the year — Cole Bajema, jr., Lynden Christian.

First team — Cole Bajema, jr., Lynden Christian; George Reidy, sr., Cedar Park Christian (Bothell); Lewis Pope, sr., South Whidbey; Michael Coumont, sr., Freeman; Antonio Salinas, jr., Zillah.

Honorable mention — Kobe Kohls, sr., Naches Valley; Casey Bauman, sr., Nooksack Valley.


Player of the year — Brock Ravet, jr., Kittitas.

First team — Brock Ravet, jr., Kittitas; Matt Poquette, sr., Morton-White Pass; Cody Young, sr., Adna; Erik Farias, jr., St. George’s; Joe Taylor, jr., Brewster.

Honorable mention — Justin Jeske, sr., Liberty (Spangle); Reece Wallace, sr., Toledo; Carson Cloaninger, jr., Colfax.


Player of the year — Erwin Weary, sr., Cedar Park Christian-Mountlake Terrace.

First team — Erwin Weary, sr., Cedar Park Christian-Mountlake Terrace; PJ Talen, sr., Tacoma Baptist; Maguire Isaak, jr., Almira/Coulee-Hartline; Luke Wagenaar, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Zach Cain, sr., Taholah.

Honorable mention — Ryan Moffet, so., Odessa; Cade Bosma, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Jacob Tewalt, sr., Pomeroy; Brandon Flett, sr., Wellpinit.


Player of the year, all classes — Lexie Hull, sr., Central Valley.


Player of the year — Lexie Hull, sr., Central Valley.

First team — Lexie Hull, sr., Central Valley; Kylee Griffen, sr., Lake Stevens; Jamie Loera, sr., Moses Lake; Shalyse Smith, sr., Bellarmine Prep; Lacie Hull, sr., Central Valley.

Honorable mention — Jade Loville, sr., Skyline; JaQuaya Miller, jr., Kentridge; Gina Marxen, sr., Eastlake.


Player of the year — Brynna Maxwell, jr., Gig Harbor.

First team — Brynna Maxwell, jr., Gig Harbor; Oumou Toure, jr., Kamiakin; Belle Frazier, jr., Peninsula; Brooke Walling, jr., Prairie; Dalayah Daniels, so., Garfield.

Honorable mention — Grace Sarver, sr., West Seattle; Kondalia Montgomery, sr., Lincoln; Ashley Alter, sr., Stanwood.


Player of the year — Kiara Steen, sr., W.F. West.

First team — Kiara Steen, sr., W.F. West; Jelly Perry, sr., Lakewood; Emily Rodabaugh, jr., Archbishop Murphy; Beyonce Bea, jr., Washougal; Marissa Cortes, jr., Prosser.

Honorable mention — Genesis Wilkinson, jr., East Valley (Spokane); Erika Brumfield, jr., W.F. West; Jenni Johnson, sr., Toppenish; Georgia Lavinder, sr., White River; Julia Johnson, sr., W.F. West; Lindsey Nurmi, sr., Black Hills.


Player of the year — Hailey Van Lith, so., Cashmere.

First team — Hailey Van Lith, so., Cashmere; Julianna Walker, fr., Annie Wright; Katrina Gimmaka, sr., Nooksack Valley; Samantha Bowman, sr., Zillah; Avery Dykstra, sr., Lynden Christian.

Honorable mention — Irena Korolenko, so., Cedar Park Christian (Bothell); Taylor Stephens, jr., La Center; Isabela Hernandez, jr., Lynden Christian; Sienna Swannack, sr., Lakeside.


Player of the year — Carmen Gfeller, sr., Colfax.

First team — Carmen Gfeller, sr., Colfax; Talia von Oelhoffen, fr., Tri-Cities Prep; Melissa Lee, sr., Napavine; Makenzie Kaech, sr., Ilwaco; Sydney Abbott, sr., Davenport.

Honorable mention — Britnee Guerrero, sr., Mabton; Mollie Olson, sr., Napavine; Alea Yun, jr., Life Christian; Cece Bergquist, sr., St. George’s


Player of the year — Dakota Patchen, jr., Colton.

First team — Dakota Patchen, jr., Colton; Gabi Isaak, jr., Almira/Coulee-Hartline; Sailor Liefke, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Nayha Mills, sr., Yakama Tribal; Tiffany Boutain, sr., Almira/Coulee-Hartline.

Honorable mention — Gabi Rick, sr., Selkirk; Emily Banks, sr., Sunnyside Christian; Maddy Dixon, so., Pomeroy; Gina McCaulley, sr., Neah Bay; Katie Arrasmith, sr., Garfield-Palouse.



You may also like...

Leave a Reply