• Uncategorized
  • 0

McCaslin Repeats as Lewis County Amateur Champion

Jon McCaslin chips the ball onto the green on hole 11 during the Lewis County Amateur on Sunday at Riverside Golf Course in Chehalis.

By Matt Baide

Jon McCaslin has a nice piece of hardware to add to his new house.

McCaslin was down two strokes entering the back nine at Riverside Golf Course in Chehalis on Sunday, but came from behind to earn a 1-shot win to repeat as the Lewis County Amateur champion.

“This one was tough. It’s always hard to repeat something when you’re playing in any type of sport,” McCaslin said. “Jay’s (Thompson) a solid guy. He wasn’t going away. He had a 2-shot lead on me after nine holes and I was able to come back and tie it up and then birdie a couple holes there at the end to get a couple strokes on him.

“It was tough but it was fun,” he added.

Ryan Earl fired the low round of Day 2 with a 5-under 66 to finish one shot back in second place. Thompson finished third at 2-under for the 36-hole tournament.

The final group featured McCaslin and Thompson, and Thompson bogeyed the 10th hole while McCaslin made par to cut Thompson’s lead to a stroke.

“I feel like I played well. I just left some putts out there on the back side,” Thompson said. “The whole weekend, I played really well. Just got to make putts to win.”

Thompson was playing Riverside for the first time.

“I love the track. A lot of corky doglegs, but you can’t hit driver on every hole so it makes you think,” he said. “I had to back off a lot, which is a lot of fun too, but I enjoyed it.”

Chad Raish won the net tournament, finishing 8-under.

On the par-3 11th hole, McCaslin hit his tee shot into the hazard, and chipped his next shot close to come away with bogey while Thompson made par to extend the lead back to 2 shots.

But McCaslin was able to bounce back on the par-4 12th hole, as he hit two beautiful shots to set himself up for a birdie. Thompson made bogey, putting both golfers at 2-under with six holes to play.

“You just got to play one hole at a time. I had seven holes left after that and I just had to play it one hole at a time,” McCaslin said. “And then he made a bogey and I made a birdie, so there’s two shots right there. That picked up the pace for me.”

Thompson and McCaslin each made par on the 13th. McCaslin was able to make birdie on the par-5 14th, while Thompson reached the green in two shots, but a three-putt gave him a par put him one shot off the lead.

Thompson bogeyed the par-3 15th, and McCaslin made a par to take a 2-stroke lead. Both players made birdie on the par-5 16th for a 2-shot lead with two holes to play.

“Once I got a two shot lead with two holes to play, I just said ‘Par two holes and make him beat you,’” McCaslin said. “Hit it to the middle of the green, don’t short-side yourself, and that’s what I did.”

McCaslin missed a birdie putt on the 17th, while Thompson made birdie to cut the lead to one shot with just the par-4 18th hole remaining. Thompson had a chip to make birdie on 18 and force McCaslin to make his long birdie putt to win, but Thompson wasn’t able to execute, allowing McCaslin to two-putt his way to victory.

McCaslin said he’ll try to return in 2018 to make it three straight Lewis County Amateur titles.

“This is a bonus. It will look nice in the new house,” McCaslin said. “We bought a new house and this is my first round of golf this weekend for about a month and a half, so I came out and it was good. I’ll be back, so you never know.”

2017 Lewis County Amateur
Gross Scores
1 Jon McCaslin -4
2 Ryan Earl -3
3 Jay Thompson -2
T4 Tim Myers +3
T4 Kalib R. Knutson +3
6 Matt Hartley +4
T7 Aaron Randall +5
T7 Jason Boettner +5
T9 Nolan Backman +6
T9 Justin Cox +6
T11 Will Alexander +7
T11 Patrick Nugent +7
T13 Jeff Byrnes +8
T13 Micah Tilley +8
T13 Nicholas Betrozoff +8
16 Sean Fitzpatrick +10
T17 Ed Klein +11
T17 Steve Rude +11
T19 Jared Rasmussen +12
T19 Sam Devore +12
T19 Jon Hubbert +12
T22 Joe Blaser Jr +13
T22 Chris May +13
T24 Andrew Martin +14
T24 Alan Browning +14
26 Bill Mcelroy +15
27 Matt Gill +16
T28 Timothy Morrissey +17
T28 Bryan Deirick +17
30 Mike Bradley +18
T31 Richard James +19
T31 Wesley Tyler Leverett +19
T33 Kevin Johnson +20
T33 Sean Dunn +20
T35 Jake Lennox +21
T35 Rolando Cornelio +21
T35 Nelson Papp +21
T38 Nick Friend +22
T38 Kiho Kim +22
T38 Joseph Vallespin +22
T41 Kevin Shewfelt +23
T41 Pete Mirkovich +23
T43 Dennis Sliva +24
T43 Jon Pannette +24
T43 Lou Whittenberg +24
T43 Tandy Charley +24
T47 John Cole +25
T47 Jordan Palmer +25
T47 Josh Aselton +25
T50 Joe Carlson +26
T50 David Lloyd +26
T50 Shawn Deirick +26
T53 Paul J Dugaw +27
T53 Ken Snider +27
T53 Mark Hoiseck +27
T57 Ken Shewfelt +28
T57 Jordan Bone +28
T57 Bill Scanlan +28
T57 Kris Grinell +28
T61 Gordon Shewfelt +29
T61 Johnny Blaser +29
T61 Lee Matlick +29
T61 Michael Robb +29
T61 Tom Perez +29
T66 Don Blaser +30
T66 Shaun Carson +30
T66 Fritz Herr +30
T66 Andy Kim +30
T66 Chad Raish +30
T71 Shane Patrick +31
T71 Ted Kohler +31
T71 Bill Gardner +31
T74 Danny Brown +32
T74 Jason Smith +32
T76 Jeffrey Moenck +33
T76 David Arcuri +33
T78 Richard Hamilton +34
T78 Frank Hing +34
T80 Ed Hill +35
T80 James Hill +35
T80 Joe Quirk +35
T80 Mary Swofford Jr +35
T84 Don Nyman +36
T84 Joe Rosbach +36
T86 Dave Gray +37
T86 Kelly Sherwood +37
T88 Jerry Langbraaten +38
T88 Allen Follette +38
T88 Marlin Langworthy +38
T88 John MacLennan +38
T92 Chris R Moore +40
T92 Pat Connors +40
T94 Ken Frazier +41
T94 Paul Gisi +41
T96 Jeff Ferguson +42
T96 Ray Jacques +42
98 Andy Puryear +43
T99 Jeff Petra +44
T99 Brian Hoff +44
T99 Gabriel Toma +44
T99 Michael Hall +44
103 Jim Justin +45
T104 Ron Sutherland +47
T104 Mike Botten +47
106 Jason Welsh +48
T107 Eric Stebbins +49
T107 Mike Johnson +49
109 Hung Pham +50
110 Randy Sanders +51
111 Brandon Pavey +52
112 Clyde Bloomstrom +53
T113 Ray Peters +54
T113 Steve Peaker +54
T115 Thomas Fridley +56
T115 Joe Dupuy +56
117 Marty Swofford +64
118 Connor Deidrich +71
119 Chris Quimby +74
120 Robert Sage +78

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *